Angry Pig

Over the weekend I attended a Picture Hooks masterclass at Edinburgh’s Portrait Gallery. The class was run by Sara Ogilvie, a truly inspiring illustrator who illustrates picture books amongst many other interesting things.

Sara got us to draw a range of human facial expressions (from each other) before we chose from a selection of toy animals to which we then applied all these expressions. I fell for a rubber pig with a peculiar stare – here are some of the results.

I’ve really enjoyed my weekend and feeling like a student again. It’s been good to discover new ways of working and who knows, maybe I’ll try my hand at picture books one day. One thing is for sure, it’ll have to be an angry pig based story.

4a9a.jpg1a2a5a7a

Leave a Reply

