After work drawings (basically more work)

I love British pubs. Most of them have very interesting interiors which hold a lot of history as they never seem to get refurbished and I like how these places seem to bring together people from all walks of life. After a long day of work its nice to go to the pub with friends for a couple of drinks. Most people then forget about work, they don’t want to speak or even think about it. After a long day of work as an Illustrator you might find yourself picking up those pens and pencils again and drawing in your sketchbook if something gets a hold of you. Basically there is no such thing as afterwork.

Anyway, last week I did 3 drawings in 2 pubs. The first one was done in the Kenilworth on Rose Street and the other two in the Argyle Bar & Cellar Monkey in Marchmont. For the latter two I used a small piece of bamboo stick which I dipped into ink. I am currently looking at new drawing tools and especially the various ways in which ink can be used. I was happy to find models that were so deep in thought or engaged in conversation they didn’t realise I was drawing them. The other thing I like about drawing in pubs is that people tend to stay a very long time without moving much. This is especially true for older men, which is why my sketchbooks tend to have quite a few of them. Funnily I only just became aware of that fact. Its probably more common for young ladies to be the muses of older men but well, why now turn the concept around?

Pub2a

Pub3a

Pub1a

Leave a Reply

