Artist targets Graffiti Wall?

Today an article appeared in the Edinburgh Evening News about a project that is still very much in the early stages of development  I feel that within the article a few things got muddled up and I would like to use the opportunity to put things right.
This is the letter to wrote to the Evening News, and which will hopefully be published:
I write to you in order to redress an inaccuracy in your recent article entitled ‘Artist Targets Graffiti Wall’ which appeared in your publication on Wed 27 Feb 13. The manner in which the article was written portrays me as an individual who is against graffiti and street art and intends to launch a campaign to replace said works with installations of my own; this is not the case. The project to install art work along the wall at Middle Meadow Walk is actually the brain child of the ‘Friends of the Meadows and Bruntsfield Links’ who approached myself and other members of the Edinburgh College of Art in an attempt to identify an alternative to council’s proposal of installing advertising hoardings in an attempt prevent casual graffitying. I feel it is important that I raise my concerns in order to preserve my artistic neutrality on the subject of graffiti and street art, which is its an art form in its own right.
Leave a Reply

