Woodcut travelling to London

I’ve decided to start writing a blog about my work and will start today with some good news: One of my woodcuts has just been accepted for this year’s Royal Society of Marine Artists Annual Exhibition in London at the Mall Galleries and will be part of the show from October 17 – 28! I made this piece in 2009 on a student trip to the Baltic Sea where I found the board at a ship wharf and decided to carve the surrounding landscape into it, focussing on the vertical elements. I liked the idea that the board had belonged to a ship before and was now being reused. Also, it’s quite a signature piece to me; having carved it out within two days gave me a very painful wrist which I can still feel up to this day!

rsma1And a huge thanks to Tanja and Corinna you went to see the exhibition and take some pictures for me as I couldn’t make it down myself.rsma2

Leave a Reply

